What they don’t tell you about the Disney College Program

It is hard.

Working a variety of 40-60 hours every week can get exhausting. Especially when all you want to do on your one or two days off every week is sleep but you know you need to take advantage of living in Disney World and go to the parks. Throughout my six months living in Disney I was the most tired I have ever been in my whole life. It was a continuous tiredness that never got a break.

The first week is just as hard as the last week.

The first week you move in is exhausting. You have casting, traditions, move in meetings, on-boarding, and so many other things to do. You will be overwhelmed to the max. Although most people do not realize until their last week that the last week is just as hard. Packing up everything and leaving what was your home for the past 6 months is one of the hardest things to do.

Traditions will fill your heart with so much love for the Walt Disney Company.

Traditions is about learning the secrets and motives behind the Walt Disney Company. This whole day literally just moved me and made me so happy. Learning things that I have never known before about my dream company was AMAZING!

You will most likely come home from work most nights crying because you are so overwhelmed.

This happened to my roommates and I multiple times. The stress of working 12 hour shifts everyday is exhausting and sometimes it will hit you more than other times. Sometimes you will even come home crying because you’re so happy with what happened at work that day. My roommates and I have all experienced this one too. Working at Disney brings the most unexpected magic in the best and worst ways.

Closing shifts almost always end with Steak n’ Shake or McDonald’s trips.

The amount of money and hours I spent at either Steak n’ Shake or McDonalds was way too much! After work you are always tired but you know deep down that you just want to keep spending time with your coworkers and friends. Some of my best memories were made at the McDonalds near Lake Buena Vista.

Lastly, the moment you say goodbye you will wish you could press the rewind button and do it all over again.

Leave a comment